Moving on…

Okay my pity party is over. We had to pull the littles out of school because of finances. I love love love this school. It’s the school that Bunny went to when she was little. It was special to me like the cedar chest of baby clothes that I saved for 10 years. I wanted my babies to have the same things my Bunny had. Bunny and Delila had the same teacher. I love her! When Bunny was little and my life was falling apart (divorce) Miss Amelia helped us so much. She was kind and watched over my sweet girl. Everyone respected my wishes about holding, hugging and eye contact. Henry’s teachers listened to me and took me seriously. My little Hen was a pretty manipulative guy full of angst. Miss Betsy and miss Kim were very consistent, firm and kind with Henry. He is a different little boy now. We all rejoiced in his accomplishments. They loved my kids, I mean really loved them. I am sad because yesterday I lost part of my village, a very important part. Thanks for listening.

14 thoughts on “Moving on…

  1. That is no small thing at all so forgive me for being just a tiny bit relieved. You and your blog are a bit of my adoptive village and I was so worried there was more wrong. I am not trivializing your pain, I am deeply sympathetic. That kind of community and support is beyond measure and its loss should be mourned. The economy has hurt us all. I am truly very sorry that it cost you something so precious. I do hope you feel better soon.

  2. I’m so sorry, Kelley. I am sure this was very tough on you. Does the school have a financial aid package that they could help you out during this tough time?

  3. I’m so sorry that you’ve had to take the littles out of this great school. It sounds like they got a lot out of it while they were enrolled and that is something to be happy/proud about. I know how much it hurts a mother’s heart to not be able to give something to our children that we really want them to have. I struggle with this too, especially when considering whether to adopt a 4th time. I don’t want to do it at the expense of the first three’s opportunities. On the other hand, are private school and three dance/gymnastics classes a week really worth more than the love shared with another sibling? Who knows?! I hope you feel better soon and find another, less expensive, way to enrich your children’s lives.

  4. Oh, I’m so sorry! It is hard to lose your village, or even part of it, whether it is due to a move, or losing a beloved school, or watever. I know. ((hugs))

  5. OH, that bites. I’m so sorry. I have taken a job I kind of loathe just to keep Lucy in the daycare I love, so I totally get it. Virtual hugs. And I promise — the MINUTE Lucy shows any willingness to keep any kind of barette in her hair for more than 26 seconds, I’m buying out your shorty bananas store!

  6. Sorry to hear of your predicament. I had to transition my kids from private/Montessori to public a few years ago for financial reasons and although it was hard, it was the right thing to do. I’m happy with the school system they are in now. There is an adjustment period (like when my kids were learning their six figure numbers (gasp) to use for lunch instead of their names). But my kids are happy in school and that is what matters the most. Good luck.

  7. Of course I read this right away, but you and I have been in touch already about all this so I didn’t comment right away. I’m sorry you’ve had to make this change, I know how much you love that school. I’m glad you were able to have Lila and Henry there for the time you did, I have seen first-hand what a great place it was for them. I know how much this hurts your heart and I know you wouldn’t have done it if you could have helped it. I’m here if I can help!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

